Yet another warning about Facebook.
This week (and weeks to come maybe?) many people around the world have received an e-mail message supposedly from Facebook with a message that their user password has been reset and attached to the e-mail is a .zip file.
DO NOT OPEN THE ATTACHMENT
My fiance’ received such a message and while it says from “support@facebook.com” the e-mail has been spoofed; meaning it actually came from another source but is trying to look like it came from Facebook.com.
I was not able to get a screen shot from him but I did find one on the interwebs.
Now, a lot of people may pick up quickly that this e-mail is fraudulent. The verbiage, lack of name, lack of signature and privacy statement and the fact that you have to download an attachment to get said “password”, but for those that aren’t quite sure. It’s FAKE.
According to McAfee Security the attachment contains downloaders, password trojans, just to name a couple. Either way, it’s bad news for you and your security.
If you ever receive a suspicious looking e-mail from Facebook, please report it to Facebook’s Security Team.



Your Thoughts